Bermondsey Rotherhithe Community Council

Click to view map
12th September 2017 @ 19:00 Europe/London Timezone
Southwark Council Offices Room G01C
160 Tooley St
London SE1 2HZ
Southwark Council
020 7525 1780

Bermondsey Rotherhithe Community CouncilBermondsey and Rotherhithe Community  Council meeting


  1. Welcome and Introductions
  2. Public questions time
  3. Community announcements
    1. Abbey Street Quietway – Joanne Lesak,Project Manager,Highways(Transport)
    2. Cleaner,Greener,SaferFunding18/19- Michelle Normanly, Senior Project Manager,Highways, Community Projects
    3. CAN Meetings & Discussion Events – Nathan Lewis, Outreach and Relationships Officer, Community Southwark
  4. Panel / Community discussion
    1. Panel Members Cllr Bill Williams – Chair
    2. Cllr Barrie Hargrove – Cabinet member for communities
    3. Kevin Dyke – Child sexual explotation prevention co-ordinator
    4. Suley Muhidin – Communities Project office (Youth engagement)
    5. Luton Sinfield – Community Safety Officer, community safety partnership service
  5. Break
  6. Action Plan
  7. Community council questions to council assembly

What are community councils all about?

Southwark’s five Community councils offer local people a chance to be involved in decision making, and an opportunity for local viewpoints to be heard. They are open to everyone, no matter what age or background, and allow the community to have a say about issues that affect them.

The five community councils are based on current council ward boundaries. Each has elected Councillors as voting members, and are an important part of the council’s decision making process

The five Community Councils in Southwark are: Bermondsey & Rotherhithe; Borough, Bankside & Walworth; Camberwell; Dulwich; Peckham & Nunhead.

The community councils hold public meetings, about 5 times a year, where local people can meet with each other and with the ward Councillors, to discuss key issues of concern, and help influence decisions on matters of local interest. The executive decision making function occurs at the first and last meetings of each cycle – beginning in June.

The meetings are held at different locations across the community council area, lasting about two to three hours, and can be on a weekday evening or a Saturday afternoon. The meetings are usually themed around a particular topic, such as transport, development, environment, employment etc. and there are presentations from council officers, special interest groups and local initiatives with some relevance to the theme.

Bermondsey Rotherhithe Community Council

How can you get involved?

People can –

  • Attend a meeting
  • Contact their local Councillor about raising a specific issue
  • Submit a petition to a community council
  • Raise a deputation
  • Ask a question or take part in the open discussion during the meeting
  • Present their community activity at a community slot
  • Additionally, the community councils can facilitate and support the forming of new groups, and local projects through funding opportunities, advice and introductions

People can also sign up to receive regular email notifications about community councils and other local activities by contacting your community council officer.

Purpose of committee

Bermondsey and Rotherhithe Community Council is made up of members of the following electoral wards: Grange, Livesey (north of Old Kent Road), Riverside, Rotherhithe, South Bermondsey and Surrey Docks wards.

Role and functions

  1. To promote the involvement of local people in the democratic process and to bring decision making closer to local people.
  2. To take decisions about local matters. At present community councils have delegated authority in the following key areas: the neighbourhoods fund, cleaner, greener, safer capital programmes, and highways capital investment.


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!