Canada Water Book Groups

Canada Water Book Groups

If you are passionate about books then you’ll be interested in the Canada Water Book Groups. Southwark Libraries organise different book activities all year around across the different locations in the borough. These are welcoming events in which to discuss and talk about the selected title for that day.


Canada Water Afternoon Book Group

This group meets on the fourth Thursday of every month from 2pm to 3p. The group covers a whole range of books from mysteries  and crime to Booker Prize winners. You can collect each month’s book from reception at the library and join them for a light hearted and friendly discussion. If you would like further information, please get in touch by email   richard.bareham@southwark.gov.uk


Canada Water Afternoon Club Book Titles

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

26th May 2016 | The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one? *THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING NOVEL*

A terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.

A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives.

But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity – that she, in fact, is Lydia – their world comes crashing down once again.

As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past – what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

S. K. Tremayne is a bestselling novelist and award-winning travel writer, and a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines around the world. Born in Devon, the author now lives in London. S. K. Tremayne has two daughters.

  Find the book in Southwark Libraries Catalogue here

 


23rd June 2016 | The Man in The Picture by Susan Hill

A mysterious depiction of masked revellers at the Venice carnival hangs in the college rooms of Oliver’s old professor in Cambridge. On a cold winter’s night, its eerie secret is revealed by the ageing don
Susan Hill has been a prolific writer since 1963. She was a presenter of BBC Radio 4’s Bookshelf. She has won the Somerset Maugham Award (for I’m the King of the Castle); the Whitbread Novel Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. Her sequel to Rebecca, Mrs de Winter, was a big bestseller and her short story The Woman in Black was adapted to the stage and has been running in the West End for 18 years.

 

 

  Find the book in Southwark Libraries Catalogue here

Canada Water Evening Book Group

This friendly and lively group is always happy to welcome new members. They meet on the second Thursday of every month, 6.45pm to 8pm. Collect this month’s book from reception and join us on the following dates to share your thoughts and impressions.

If you would like further information, please get in touch by email   nuala.graham@southwark.gov.uk

Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey

Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey

12th May 2016 | Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

‘Elizabeth is missing’, reads the note in Maud’s pocket in her own handwriting. Lately, Maud’s been getting forgetful. She keeps buying peach slices when she has a cupboard full, forgets to drink the cups of tea she’s made and writes notes to remind herself of things. But Maud is determined to discover what has happened to her friend, Elizabeth, and what it has to do with the unsolved disappearance of her sister Sukey, years back, just after the war

 

 

 

  Find the book in Southwark Libraries Catalogue here


The Photographer's Wife by Nick Alexander

The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander

 

9th June 2016 | The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander

Barbara – a child of the Blitz – has devoted her life to raising a family. She has protected her children from many of the harsh realities of life and kept more than a few secrets about her marriage to famous photographer Tony Marsden. But with such an incomplete picture of the past, her children have struggled to understand who their parents really are, and in turn, she sometimes worries, to build their own lives and identities. When daughter, Sophie, decides to organise a vast retrospective exhibition of her adored father’s work, old photos are pulled from dusty boxes. And with them tumble stories from the past, stories and secrets that will challenge every aspect of how Sophie sees her family and who her father really was. And as the story unravels, Sophie begins to find out that there is more to her family than she could ever have suspected





Canada Water Library: Location and opening times

 

Canada Water Culture Space LocationOpening times

Canada Water Library is open Monday to Friday 8am to 8pm, Saturday 9am to 5pm and Sunday 12noon to 4pm. Evening opening according to performance and events schedule

Canada Water Library and Culture Space is situated directly above Canada Water station (Jubilee line and London overground). Exit the station towards Surrey Quays Shopping Centre.

Buses: 199, 1, 225, 47, 188, 381, C10, P12

Access

There is wheelchair access throughout the building. Induction loops are available

Previous Southwark Park Bowling Green
Next Speech Bubbles KS1 Communication Intervention Free Taster

You might also like

Archives

Stanley Arms Christmas Fundraising Party

Celebrate Christmas while helping others thanks to the fundraising event organised by The Stanley Arms in Bermondsey. The money will help to make Christmas a special day particularly for people

Archives

Halloween Party at The Stanley Arms Pub

Sat 31 Oct | Be scared…and have a pint! Pop in to the Halloween Party at The Stanley Arms Pub Other related posts you might find interesting

Archives

Blue Christmas at The Blue Market 6 Dec

Join for this Christmas event for all the family at the Blue Market . There will be live music, Santa’s grotto for children and adults alike, Christmas stalls and Hot

0 Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!